" /> Visas - Invest Croatia


Nationals of the following countries do not need a visa to enter the Republic of Croatia or to stay in the country for up to three months, or for transit through the territory of the Republic of Croatia:

  • Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Republic of Argentina, Australia, Austria, Commonwealth of the Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Federal Republic of Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Republic of Bulgaria, Republic of Cyprus, Montenegro, Czech Republic, Republic of Chile, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, French Republic, Republic of Guatemala, Hellenic Republic, Republic of Honduras, Ireland, Iceland, State of Israel, Japan, Canada, Republic of Korea, Republic of Costa Rica, Republic of Latvia, Principality of Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Hungary, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Republic of Mauritius, United Mexican States, Principality of Monaco, Republic of Nicaragua, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Federal Republic of Germany, Republic of Panama, Republic of Paraguay, Republic of Poland, Portuguese Republic, Romania, Republic of El Salvador, Republic of San Marino, Republic of Seychelles, Republic of Singapore, United States, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Serbia, Vatican, St. Kitts and Nevis, Kingdom of Spain, Kingdom of Sweden, Swiss Confederation, Republic of Italy, Republic of Turkey, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Eastern Republic of Uruguay, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

Visa is not required for bearers of valid travel documents issued by the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland:

  • British (overseas) citizens;
  • British overseas nationals that have the right of residence in the UK and
  • British subjects who have the right of residence in the United Kingdom.

This also applies to holders of valid passports issued in the special administrative area of ​​Hong Kong People’s Republic of China and the Macao Special Administration Territory of the People’s Republic of China.
Visa requirement does not apply to holders of passports issued in Taiwan, if the personal ID number is entered in the passport.

Easier entry of foreigners with valid Schengen residence permits and visas

Pursuant to the Government’s decision, from July 22, 2014, it was determined that all foreigners who are holders of valid Schengen documents, as well as those who are holders of a visa and residence permit of Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania, do not need additional (Croatian) visa for Croatia .

Aliens who are holders of:

–          unique visas (C) valid for all Schengen states, valid for two or more entries;

–          Visas with limited regional validity (LTV) issued to the holder of a travel document which is not recognized by one or more but not all Schengen States, valid for the territory of the States recognizing this travel document, valid for two or more entries;

–          Long-term visa (D) for stays longer than 90 days, issued by one of the Schengen Area member states;

–          residence permits issued by one of the Schengen member states

–          visas, valid for two or more entries, and residence permits of Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania

do not need a visa for transit, or for a intended stay in Croatia that does not exceed 90 days in any 180-day period.

Nationals of Kosovo, who are holders of Schengen visas with limited territorial validity (LTV visas), valid for all Schengen countries except for Greece and Spain, temporarily do not require a visa for entering and short-term stay or for transit through the territory of Croatia.

Croatia’s visa policy is fully harmonized with that of the EU even before the accession (1 July 2013), as of 1 April. This means that from that date onwards the classic visa regime will apply for the citizens of Russia and Turkey as well as citizens of all those countries that need visa for entering the EU member countries.

Do you need a visa?

Avisa is approval for :

Transit through the territory of the Republic of Croatia or residence on the territory of the Republic of Croatia for the longest period of 3 months in every six month period beginning on the date of the first entrance to the territory of the Republic of Croatia and transit through transit area of an international airport.

Types of visas are:

  • airport transit visa (visa A)
  • short-term visa (visa C).

Based on the visa, a foreigner cannot work on the Croatian territory.

Visas are issued by diplomatic missions or consular offices of the Republic of Croatia abroad. It can be issued by the diplomatic mission or consular office of another country with which the Republic of Croatia has signed a visa issuing agreement. An application for a visa is submitted on the prescribed form up to 3 months prior to the intended travel. An alien who is entered in the travel document of an alien who applies for a visa, shall apply for a visa on a separate form.

A foreigner who comes to a private or business visit to a private or legal person in the Republic of Croatia may be required to attach a letter of guarantee and / or other evidence that the individual or the legal entity will bear the cost of his stay in Croatia, including the cost of accommodation and maintenance costs, and the costs of leaving the Republic of Croatia.

An alien who applies for a short-stay visa must show that he has adequate and valid travel health insurance. And in the case of multiple entry the alien also needs a signed statement of commitment of possession of travel health insurance for subsequent visits.

Exceptionally, a visa may be issued by the authorities competent to monitor the border crossing, if the alien was not able to pre-apply for a visa at a diplomatic mission or consular office of the Republic of Croatia. In that case the alien needs to attach, if necessary documents proving unpredictable and immediate reasons for entering the Republic of Croatia.

An alien who resides in the Republic of Croatia with a visa, as a rule, cannot have his visa extended. Exceptionally, the validity and / or duration of the residence issued on the basis of issued visas can be extended due to force majeure, humanitarian or serious personal reasons. The request for extension shall be submitted to the police department / station, according to the place of residence of the alien before the expiry of the current visa. The request is decided upon the Ministry of Interior. By making the decision to extend the visa, a foreigner can stay on the Croatian territory.



From January 1, 2019, the Ministry of Economy, Entrepreneurship and Craft is in charge of investments processes in Croatia – invest@mingo.hr.